Throwback to Turning TwentyTwo

Because I’m turning 23 in two days, I thought I’d do a Throwback Thursday post to my birthday last year. I loved my birthday last year. Actually, I’ve loved being 22. My day started off with me winning concert tickets to a show later that night proceeded by mimosas with my roomies, a phone interview & a fun themed desert//Moroccan party with a tequila signature cocktail. I’m not entirely superstitious, but I do believe the tone of your birthday can affect your year. I continued to win concert tickets, & other great freebies, that phone interview landed me the greatest summer internship, I still prefer tequila, & I’m friends with everyone who celebrated with me.
Buttt okay, I’m ready to turn 23. 

Every year I get more and more excited about my birthday…I guess you can say that it’s a good thing I’m not worried about getting older. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t just a little bit worried about getting older, i.e. having to answer the question, “So what are you doing with your life?” & not having an answer. That’s the scary part.
Back to the positive – there is just something about turning a year older that sounds & feels so glamorous to me; like this could be the year I do so much. It’s also refreshing not to have to say I’m ___ years old every day for 365 days. This is a new chapter, a new me. I’m also a firm believer of the “act your age” principle. No I’m not 22, I’m about to be 23, and there is more that comes with 23 than with 22. New Years is kind of the same thing; it’s a new year, but it’s not as personal as your birthday. Your birthday is YOUR milestone, it’s a day of celebration and reflection.
I can’t wait for this weekends celebration & sharing it with you guys! It will be themed & it will be different than anything I’ve done the last few years. I’ve got to set the tone 😉

VLF Catalina xo

Leave a Reply

