Napa Valley Getaway

Hunter & I had the most amazing time in Napa, CA last Saturday. It was everything I imagined and more. His mom came up that weekend too, so it was a nice little getaway for us and vacation for her. We found this great deal on Groupon that included riding in a charter limo bus (hello all day bottomless mimosas), visiting 4 wineries & catered breakfast&lunch. We couldn’t pass this deal up.
Side Note: when Hunter & I first started dating, he was not into wine and couldn’t see why I enjoyed it so much. After one glass, he’d be asleep! Now he’s obsessed with wine – almost as much as me.
Driving up was absolutely beautiful; the skies were blue and there were endless rows of grapevines that brought life to the hillsides. This was the first time both Hunter and I had ever been to Napa, but we have been wine tasting before in Ensenada, Baja CA. Since Napa is inland from San Francisco I decided to take full advantage of the warmer weather. I wore my Free People “Dotty For You” mini dress in black, Brixton Dalila hat, Vince Camuto ankle cowboy booties, & Zara white double zipper cross-body.


Side Note: I should’ve talked more about the wine we had & I intended on remembering all the ones we tried and the grapes they came from, but there was so much CHEERS’ing going on I forgot. oops. All the wines were really good though.
Our first stop was the Jacuzzi Winery. Jacuzzi winery is ran and owned by the same family who founded the spa Jacuzzi. It is half a winery and half an olive oil mill. Hunter was approached by gentleman with 2 empty wine glasses when we first walked in and he immediately asked us to join his tasting group, not that we weren’t going to already taste wine, but those on the bus had to get in line. We got to try everything twice and get a tour of the grounds. Of all the wineries, this one by far was one of my favorites, you’re probably thinking “but wait don’t you still 3 ore wineries to visit?” I enjoyed this one because of all the breads, oils, wines, and oh the dark chocolate shot filled with Cabernet Sauvignon.

Second stop, was the Larson Family Winery. This one was by far my favorite. They didn’t have bread and olive oil dipping’s, but they had a huge yard, stable with horses, football & corn hole, picnic tables, and 3 Labradors running around. (Try their 3 Lab Cab, it’s so good, it’s bold, sweet & oaky) They are very popular during the Spring/Summer time for family events, and I can see why. It was definitely family oriented. If I ever decide to make my own wine and have a vineyard – I’m going to do it just like the Larson Family.

Stop number 3&4 were beautiful too but we did not do much at these wineries. Stop number 3 Madonna Estate, we sat outside and enjoyed a catered buffet lunch. Best part? the chocolate dipped strawberries & wine! Of course who can say no to more chocolate and more wine? Not me. We met this really nice couple visiting from Canada during lunch that had bought a bottle of wine at the previous winery and shared with us. Winery 4, Folio WineMaker’s Studio was small – a single tasting room & porch. We felt tired after lunch and having already drank so much wine that Hunter & I sat out back on the porch and admired the view of the golden hour. I definitely recommend the San Francisco Napa Valley Wine Country tour to anyone who is coming up for the weekend and 21+
Now time for the next adventure – currently on the plane ride home to visit my family for Thanksgiving. I’m thinking about doing some wine pairings with all the dishes my momma and I cook now that I’m a novice wine drinker. Are y’all doing anything exciting for the holiday?

Leave a Reply

